Sheffield & District Chess Association

Established 1883







Season 2019-20(-21)


Officers and Other Appointees

(Most officers are remaining in post until the next AGM, there having been no AGM in 2019)

!!! All email addresses have had the "@" symbol replaced by "(at)", AND some invisible characters added, to reduce risk of malicious address-gathering!!!  (This encryption system initiated by Brian Lever has been retained.)

Before using an e-mail address replace the bracket and its contents with the correct symbol, and remove any apparent spaces.

Phone numbers are also protected by invisible characters, so are not machine-readable.




Geoff Frost

geofffrost (at)

O17O9 545 685

O7984 181 7O4

Past Presidents

J Roger Hoole, Mike D Smith


J L Coe, B H England, S J Mann, K M Hogan, R S Hughes, A Perry, P G Swanson, P J Beckett, J A Fryer, G Barnes, S Bessell, W Ward, G D Brown, C C Williams, J Hamm, M Brumby, A Hards, A S McIntosh, P Blackman, D Latham


John Mercy

(no e-mail)

O114 2683 8O3


General Secretary

Geoff Brown

gd_brown (at)

O17O9 837 596

O7931 563 787

Tournament Controller

Geoff Brown

(as above)



Bulletin (Newsletter) Secretary

Steve Mann *

sjmann (at)

O17O9 379 209



Steve Mann *

(as above)


University Chess Organiser





League Secretaries:





- Division 1 (Davy)

Phillip Beckett

familybeckett2 (at)

O1777 228 36O

O7597 379 658



Brough House, Church Laneham, Retford, Notts, DN22 ONQ

- Division 2 (Weston)

Steve Bracey **

e.bracey (at)

O1246 238 832


- Division 3 (Batley-Meek)

Alan McIntosh

asmcintosh56 (at)

O114 232O 5O5

O7541 297 365



82 Providence Road,Walkley, Sheffield, S6 5BE

- Division 4 (Athenaeum)

Phillip Beckett

(as above)



- 400 League

Steve Bracey **

(as above)



- Richardson & Haystead Cups

Phillip Beckett

(as above)



- Summer League

Alan McIntosh

(as above)



- On-line Team Events

Phillip Beckett

(as above)



* Due to loss of the old webspace from BT, Steve Mann is acting webmaster pending ratification (or otherwise) at next AGM.  Brian Lever stays on the Executive.

** Steve Bracey has stepped down after 2019-02 season, withdrawing from the Executive.

Other Appointees

Match Captains:





- A Team

Jeremy Hamm

jeremyhamm (at)

O114 275 5934


- B Team

Andy Mort

mortandrew89 (at)

O1246 27O 1O3

O7722 714 176

- C Team

Geoff Brown

(as above)



Executive Members non ex officio

Alan Taylor, Steve Mann, Bill Ward, Jo Woollard


Dave Latham, Nigel Carpino


Steve Mann

sjmann (at)

O17O9 379 2O9






Members of the Executive

Executive Members

per Constitution clause 8a

ex officio: Geoff Frost, John Mercy, Geoff Brown, Phill Beckett, Alan McIntosh, Brian Lever;

non ex officio: Alan Taylor, Steve Mann, Bill Ward, Jo Woollard.